Archives for May 2015

Have you the heart for life?


Do you allow intimacy with another person?

Have you withdrawn from other people?

Are you comfortable with being alone for some of the time?

These are some of the questions that relate to our next chakra, the heart. The heart chakra is located in the middle of chest and develops between the ages of 21 and 28 years old.

On a physical level it governs the heart, lungs, blood, circulation and blood pressure. On a mental level, it is here that we experience difficulties with decision-making, social skills and opening to love. On an emotional level, it is here that we feel jealousy, envy, self-hatred and grief. On a spiritual level it is here that we learn about compassion and love.

As the integration point for the seven chakras, the challenge of the heart chakra is learning to live in both the internal – the upper three chakras – and the external – the lower three chakras. Bitterness, lack of forgiveness, feeling alone and despair will lock us into the lower three chakras of power and fight and it is only by learning to love and forgive ourselves and others that we can move successfully into the upper three chakras.

High blood pressure, circulation problems, disorders of the heart, chest pains, angina, and blocked valves etc. all demonstrate a need to work on this area. Lung issues are no less important. Breathing difficulties, shortness of breath, bronchitis, asthma and pneumonia also indicate the need for work as do problems with the shoulders.

There are many ways to work on the heart chakra. As the related sense is touch, massage can be helpful. Getting out into nature can also be most beneficial as the related colour of the heart chakra is green. Try one of Stuart Mabbutt’s wonderful sensory walks. Stuart runs both a nature radio show and also local nature days –

The element of the heart chakra is air so correct breathing is absolutely key. Try putting one hand on your chest and the other on your belly and seeing which one moves the most when you breathe. If it is your chest hand, then you are in fight and flight, which means that you are over-stressed and holding on to repressed emotions. To put this right, place both hands on your belly and breathe into them. Make sure that your belly comes out as you breathe in and back in as your breathe out. Too many of us learn to keep our tummies sucked in and, as a consequence, reverse breathe, causing chronic stress. Once you have ensured that you are breathing correctly from your diaphragm, make sure that you are breathing through your nose. Tiny hairs in the nose trap viruses and germs, preventing them from entering the lungs.

Alternate nostril breathing will also help to calm you. Close your right nostril with your right thumb and breathe deeply through your left nostril for a count of six. Pause for a count of two. Remove your thumb and cover your left nostril with your ring finger, exhaling completely through your right nostril for a count of six. Repeat several times before swapping hands and doing the other side.

If you’re really tense, inhale sharply five times through your nose without exhaling. Pause for five counts. Then exhale completely through your mouth as if you’re fogging up a window—slowly and evenly. Repeat as often as necessary.

Finally, you can use your breathing to establish an internal mantra. Silently say “I” on inhale and “can” on exhale, or “re” and “lax,” or “slow” and “down.”

So don’t be heavy-hearted. There are so many ways to ease the pain of this chakra and move into a more pleasurable life. It is a beautiful time of year. Take heart, stop judging, learn to love and enjoy all.

Love Laurelle