Archives for August 2016

How do we begin to recognise our other archetypes?

Over the past few months we have looked at some of the ways in which archetypes are the default language of the Unconscious, 95% of the mind. Now we have explored the four survival archetypes that everyone shares – Child, Victim, Saboteur and Prostitute, it is time to explore some of the other possibilities.

Carolyn Myss proposes that, along with the four shared archetypes, we all primarily work through another eight, making twelve in all. Unlike the four survival archetypes, however, these eight are different for each of us. This fascinating journey takes us into a deeper understanding of our behaviour, freeing us to choose how we behave, so that we can respond rather than react. If something pushes our buttons and makes us really angry, for instance, we don’t have to lash out and then regret it afterwards. We can choose to walk away if that is a more appropriate response.

Once we understand our own archetypes, we can also begin to recognise the archetypes that those around us are working through and this can really benefit the relationships we have with others. Some archetypes are easy to spot like the Environmentalist, the Artist or the Priest but bear in mind that some adults never move beyond Child, Victim, Saboteur and Prostitute, staying stuck in them all of their lives. It is also important to be aware that elderly people may revert back to the primary four in, as Shakespeare put it, the second childhood of life. As for children, growing up is partly about moving away from the four survival archetypes into the next eight. But whatever the age of our loved ones, friends and colleagues, the rule is the same. When someone, including ourselves, is in archetypal behaviour, never take that behaviour personally or accept a decision that is made in it because archetypal behaviour comes from the Unconscious, not the Conscious mind.

So how do we go about searching this vast soup of unconscious patterns to determine the specific archetypes that we work through? Over the next few months, we are going to look at some possibilities by grouping them into families: the Family, the Power Family, the Relationship Family, the Justice Family, the Creative Family, the Wisdom Family and the Spirituality Family. This will give us a clearer idea of our possible further eight archetypes and enable us to navigate our own behaviour with more choice and relate more authentically with others. Such knowledge will also help us to choose a profession that suits us. For example, a Lawyer needs to be working through the Judge archetype if they are to be successful, just as a novelist needs to work through the Storyteller and a lecturer the Teacher.

To prepare yourself for this exciting journey, continue observing your behaviour over the next month. By now you may have an idea of when you go into Child, Victim, Saboteur or Prostitute, even if you don’t catch yourself until afterwards, but now also watch for other patterns. For example: What can you not help doing? How do you spend your leisure time? What kind of people do you choose to be with? What kind of behaviour do you keep on repeating? How do you operate in the world?

If you want a deeper understanding that these newsletters can give you, or you can’t wait for the next instalments, then I run workshops on archetypes as well as private sessions in person or on Skype and would be delighted to help you discover what you were born to do and who you were born to be. Phone me on 07964 161527 or email me at

In the meantime, enjoy observing yourself and others, and have a happy September!

Love Laurelle



What is the story of our four survival archetypes?

Over the past four months we have looked at the four survival archetypes of the Unconscious mind – the Child, the Victim, the Saboteur and the Prostitute – in order to understand our behaviour and that of others. We each go on a Hero’s Journey to discover our true selves and nowhere is this more evident that in the story of The Wizard of Oz.

The first character we meet is Dorothy who represents the Child. At the beginning of the story she is continually looking for attention, struggling to be heard and recognised by adults. Her plea to find a place “somewhere over the rainbow” is her longing to find a home of her own where she can be herself. Without warning she is whisked out of Kansas by a tornado – chaos – into the Land of Oz. After being recognized as a Hero by the Munchkins for unwittingly killing the Wicked Witch of the East, she asks how she can return home only to be told that she must find the Wizard in the Emerald City and ask him for help. So, with the gift of ruby slippers on her feet, she starts out on her Hero’s Journey to independence and self responsibility, along the path of the yellow brick road.

The second person we meet is the Scarecrow who represents the Saboteur. He points in one direction and then another, unable to make up his mind. Stuck on a pole, he announces that he is a failure because he hasn’t got a brain. As he sings about all the things he would do ‘if only’ he had a brain, we see the Saboteur in the shadow aspect, representing confusion, lack and ‘if only’ attitudes. His Hero’s Journey is all about his gaining sufficient self-esteem to use his intelligence. Only once he has done so will he be able to make choices and decisions for himself.

Next we meet the Tin Man who represents the Prostitute, standing alone, frozen and unable to speak in the forest. With the aid of Dorothy and the Scarecrow his joints are oiled. In other words, he is given attention and love. Once he can move again, he complains that he hasn’t got a heart, singing about how loving he would be if he had one. His Hero’s Journey is finding his heart and being able to love freely without becoming frozen in fear.

Finally, we meet the Lion who claims that he has no courage, quickly showing himself to be the Victim. He asks for pity by complaining about how unbearable life has been. His Hero’s Journey is to find his courage so that he can at last be victorious and claim himself for himself.

Each of them is looking for something outside themselves – the Wizard of Oz – to make them whole. It is only when they realise that the Wizard is a fraud that they begin to see through the illusion. It seems that they already had what they were missing.  Dorothy has the ruby slippers which she needs to get her home, the Scarecrow has the intelligence which shows them what to do, the Tin Man has the heart to be kind and loving, and the Lion has the courage to fight for what he wants.

It is well worth watching the film of The Wizard of Oz see how the characters react both individually and together. Understanding how the four survival archetypes work within us frees us to see that, like Dorothy, the Scarecrow, the Tin Man and the Lion, our perceived lack is only an illusion. The truth is that each of us already has exactly what we need if only we will dare to see it. We just have to look inside and discover the treasure that was there all along.

Happy August!

Love Laurelle